What’s in a name?

When I was first thinking about creating a blog, the concept for what would be in the blog was fairly straightforward but coming up with a name was a whole other animal!

So how do you come up with a blog name? Well, luckily for me, I have an amazing partner who also teaches Digital Marketing for Durham College. Charlene has her students create blogs and requires them to be industry related and professional but also memorable…..no she did not come up with the name but she helped guide me in the initial thought process. As she said “this is your blog Gavin, not mine so you have to own the name given to it and be confident in the message you want to create.” It was good advice and the brainstorming began…but not in the typical fashion as you may think.

You see, normal brainstorming would involve sitting down with a paper and pen and just start writing down whatever comes to mind. With me, well my brain would process possible names and I would blurt them out whenever Charlene and I were hanging out together. It didn’t matter if we were having breakfast or driving in the car or working in the gardens or just vegging in front of the TV at night, my ideas just came out. Here are a few of the initial names that I spouted off that didn’t make the cut..for obvious reasons:

  •  Meaty Goodness
  • Down South in the North
  • Swine ‘n Dine
  • Low, Slow and in the Know
  • I don’t have a “Que” what’s going on.

Ok, that gives you the idea of what my poor spouse put up with and thankfully she kindly nudged me away from all of these plus the oodles of other odd concepts and suggested that I keep at it. So how did “Earth, Meat & Fire” come to be?

No, it’s not because I’m a fan of a certain musical band from the 70’s but in a moment of divine intervention, the words just came together and it made sense. Earth (because I live on 73 acres and I believe in the farm-to-table movement), Meat (well, that’s just a given) and Fire (due to the process of how BBQ is cooked).

There it is, simple and to the point. I hope you agree. 🙂

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

